Life’s Little Setbacks…

Yesterday, I posted that we had found a nice new place to live. I wanted to thank all of you for the wonderful advice and feedback. No other topic has given rise to such positive and uplifting replies from so many people for me. Unfortunately, I may have spoken too soon.

Today, I had to take down that post, and it appears that I will not be living there anyway. I’m going to be staying in my apartment for a while longer…

I guess there are a few lessons to be learned from setbacks like this. Firstly, the cliched “don’t count your chickens before they’ve hatched” comes to mind. This is important in homesteading, because a time investment in one department always comes at the cost of work somewhere else.

Secondly, make sure you know what you’re getting into before getting too involved. Do your research, so you don’t focus on approaches that don’t pay off.

Lastly comes the ability to deal with problems in as serene a way as possible. For me, serenity comes through the martial arts. From the beginning of class until I leave, I think of nothing except my training partner, and occasionally a wall or piece of mat. Even when I’m upset, I can got to class and it won’t affect me as long as I’m there. If you can find an activity like this, hold tight to it because it can save your sanity.

On another note, I’d like to ask for feedback. I’ve been writing this blog for about a month and a half now, and I would like to know if there are any stylistic or content changes you would like me to make. Also, if there are any topics you would like me to write about, please let me know!

~The Homesteading Hippy

 

 

18 thoughts on “Life’s Little Setbacks…

      1. Lorinda M - The Rowdy Baker

        Personally? I follow several homesteading blogs, and get a lot of info. What I’m loving about your blogs is the “back to nature” aspect. I’ve always dreamed of visiting Vermont, so I enjoy seeing it through your eyes. Of course, anything baking related is always wonderful too.

        Reply
    1. The Homesteading Hippy Post author

      Thank you Becca,
      I’m sure other opportunities will come along. To be honest, I’m just glad we found out early that it wasn’t going to work out, rather than after we’d moved all of our stuff over.
      ~The Homesteading Hippy

      Reply
  1. NorthernMonkeyGirl

    It’s a shame it didn’t work out, but there’s always a way around. And I like the blog as-is. I enjoy reading about what a person is excited by, rather than what they think they ought to write about.

    Reply
  2. meganfreda

    I love your blog exactly the way it is. I wish I could bring some constructive criticism to the table, but I don’t have any. I really like reading your posts and I have zero problem following what you’re writing (even though I have no experience with much of it). I really like that about your blog. It is readable and you direct it towards any kind of audience: newbies and lifers.

    Reply
  3. oldschoolonestop

    Sorry it fell through for you. Next time the chance comes along you will have a better idea of what to “look” for. I believe the universe gives to chances to learn before you make the jump. (talking from experience here). A friend of mine has a blog you may want to read. She has had a long road to get to her homestead.

    http://backyardfarmyard.blogspot.ca/

    Considering how many blog hits you have had, don’t change a thing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

