2-Kale

Sprouts, Mulch, et miscelanea

It took me a while to decide what to write about today. I didn’t have any particular projects I was working on, but I do have updates for you on my gardening. In particular, my seeds are starting to sprout! I also continued mulching my vegetable garden in preparation for planting later.

I noticed my first sprouting seed this morning, where I planted y chives. Problem is, the sprout is definitely a dicot, and chives are monocots. I think this little guy came in on the garden soil I used. I guess this technically counts as my first weed! At least it’s easy to pull.

1-False Chives

I’ve also got a tiny seedling coming up in the basil, which may or may not belong there, and at least ten kale sprouts that I’m sure of.

2-Kale

In this picture you can see a sprouting kale seed. First, it puts out a single thick root, which sprouts almost microscopic hairs. These root hairs are responsible for absorbing moisture and nutrients. Next, the cotyledons (seed leaves) will expand and break out of the seed. In kale, the cotyledons are neatly folded together, and will unfold as they grow.

6-Mulch

I finished laying the last paper for mulching today! All I have left to do is to put some mulch on it, and possibly set up a rabbit fence. I might wait with the rabbit fence until I need it, though, so I won’t be hopping it every time I work in the garden.

I also want to share another passion of mine: Aquaria. I love keeping fish, but I especially love growing aquatic plants. This is the largest of my tanks, and the nicest at the moment.

3-Aquarium

It’s a 55 gallon aquarium, with six black skirt tetras, and two kribensis cichlids. I also keep a twig catfish and two Otocinclus.

4-Lily

This is one of two water lilies that I’m growing. This one is young, and I’m not letting it grow floating pads because it will shade out its neighbors.

5-Lily Pads

This is my older lily, which does have a few pads. Given free rein, it would cover the whole tank, so it gets pruned every other week.

I would love to have a little pond to let these beauties bloom, but they’ll have to make do with what I have…

The highest goodness resembles water
Water greatly benefits myriad things without contention
It stays in places that people dislike
Therefore it is similar to the Tao” (Tao Te Ching: Annotated & Explained)

~The Homesteading Hippy

3 thoughts on “Sprouts, Mulch, et miscelanea

  1. Oldschool

    love your tank

    question – how did you manage to take pictures of your sprouts? I try to take a picture of something that small or that close and you can’t actually see anything in the picture

    Reply
  2. The Homesteading Hippy Post author

    Oldschool,
    The normal mode of most cameras won’t focus closer than a foot or two. The macro setting allows you to come closer. If you can change lenses on your camera, changing to a macro lens will help. I set my camera to macro, and hold a nearby so I don’t have to use a flash. On my camera, the macro setting will focus down to half an inch or so. I have to make sure not to bump the lens into whatever I’m taking a picture of.
    ~The Homesteading Hippy

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Regrowing Celery, Saving Money! | The Homesteading Hippy

Leave a Reply

